Windows 10, an almost dead laptop, OS-tans and the future

Hi.  It’s been a while.  A lot has happened in the past few months of my absence.  I hopped back to Windows, almost killed my computer, have developed an odd fondness for OS-tans (blame tPenguinLTG. Also, #Ai4Lyfe) and I’m currently debating switching distros.  So, let’s talk about what happened on my absence.

After my Winter semester ended, I started to slowly gravitate back towards Windows. Apart from the fact that I missed using Windows, the main reason I switched back for using familiar programs.  Namely, the Microsoft Office suite.  I enrolled into the my first non-Computer Science writing course and I had to write my first essay since high school.  While LibreOffice is definitely usable, I longed for a familiar word processor.  So I switched back to Windows and used Word.  I also found a build of Windows 10 Insider Edition that didn’t crash my PC, so installing that overwrote my Linux bootloader and I never bothered to reinstall it. I enjoyed using Windows 10, as I used it almost non-stop until its release, where I began to run into issues.

At this point, I have two Windows OSs installed.  My Insider build and my upgraded, licensed build.  My Linux partition is still here, like I said, I had no access to it.  I wanted to do a clean install of Windows 10 as I wanted to get rid of the bloat inside my licensed build.  All my important files were already in the cloud, so I didn’t mind losing ~500GB of data.  Upon attempting to clean using the built in refresh option in the Windows, my PC wouldn’t boot and would blue screen during the boot process.  Frustrated, I wiped my hard drive clean.  Attempting to reinstall Windows 7 caused a blue screen during the final stages of installation.  So I gave up on Windows and installed PCLinuxOS.  Having only Linux would force me to use the Linux environment which would be great.  Unfortunately, I somehow ran into WiFi problems at home, where it suddenly stopped connecting to my access point.  Frustrated, I got rid of my Linux and forced myself to write a 500 word writing piece using my tablet and outside computers (thankfully I was able to write another essay on Word before this debacle happened).  Out of ideas and after retrieving my USB key, I installed Windows 10 on a last ditch effort to put life into my computer.  It worked, and I assume this was because while I don’t have a physical product key for Windows 10, the product key I received when updating originally must’ve been saved on the cloud, so upon connecting to the Internet, Microsoft’s servers must’ve recognized my computer and automatically activated it.  Or something.  I don’t know for sure.

So here we are now.  Currently running Windows 10, but with no Linux distribution.  Peggy and I have been playing around with a couple distros, and I’ve decided that I’m going to switch from PCLinuxOS to possibly Debian, or even figure out Arch.  Debian is one of the longest running distros, and is considered a good medium level distro.  I also have a better understanding of desktop environments through playing around with Debian and Fedora and with help from tPenguinLTG.  I plan to have Debian installed in the meantime and use my couple weeks before school begins to figure out Arch, since that needs time to learn how to properly do everything since installation happens via command line.

So, onwards to the future!

One thought on “Windows 10, an almost dead laptop, OS-tans and the future

  1. Looks like I’ll be setting up a Debian VM soon! As the default openSUSE motd says, “Have a lot of fun!”

    It worked, and I assume this was because while I don’t have a physical product key for Windows 10, the product key I received when updating originally must’ve been saved on the cloud, so upon connecting to the Internet, Microsoft’s servers must’ve recognized my computer and automatically activated it.

    As far as I know, it actually gets saved to your BIOS chip. This has been the behaviour since Windows 8. However, I have heard talk about product keys being saved to your Microsoft account, so you might not be wrong.

$ cat your_comment

