Meet Eliza, my Arch Linux Boot!

Remember my introduction post? Yeah, that one.

Greetings everyone! I haven’t been active on this blog considering my lack of time management. Now that my schedule has freed up, I decided to finish this blog post and finally put this up on *nix Windows.

As I’ve mentioned on my introduction post, I wanted to install CrunchBang on my laptop, as it offers a lot for a user like myself. This didn’t work out, so I went about and started looking for another Linux distribution, to which I stumbled upon Manjaro, an Arch Linux fork that I thought to be quite interesting. I download the ISO and did the installation and worked like a charm. Almost.

The days progressed and the distribution was not working to my advantage. The screen was ripping, the audio did not work at times (but I can put some blame to Windows on that), WiFi was intermittent (especially on WPA2-Enterprise), and beyond that, after a solid few weeks of use, the interface on it was sub par. I got frustrated with it all of these problems. I even asked tPenguinLTG for some help, but to no avail.

So, as any person would, I scoured the internet to find a different distribution. tPenguinLTG recommended that I use Arch Linux because it’s a great way to learn Linux from it. So I did. I downloaded the ISO, put it onto my USB drive and installed Arch Linux. With the help of tPenguinLTG and the Beginners’ Guide, I went through the very tedious and detail specific installation of Arch Linux.

Partitioning and Installation

When I installed Manjaro, I partitioned my 750 GB hard drive as such:

SysRes (100 MiB) | Win7 (100 GiB) | Shared (498 GiB) | Extended (100 GiB)

(“MiB” is Mebibytes and “GiB” is Gibibytes. It is known as Binary Prefix.)

Within the Extended partition is my Linux partition. The partitioning for Manjaro successfully done and was still working, so I just had to install Arch Linux over it to get it working.

The Beginners’ Guide was intimidating. I was recommended to at least read through it before going about with the process. This is how I felt:

words

After giving it a solid read, it was time for me to start the installation. I plugged in my USB, booted from it, and lo and behold, there it was…

archlinux1

It did not look EXACTLY like this, but this one is quite accurate. I went through the process of installation by following the Beginners’ Guide and getting some help from tPenguinLTG through a Skype call. We had to go through a few things that was quite specific with my laptop. Let’s just say, Linux and AMD don’t play too well together.

The installation was fine. It took a good amount of my day, but it was well spent. I learned a few things about Linux and that’s all that matters really.

After the installation was the modifications and final touches on the laptop. I started by installing a few laptop power management tools to make sure that my laptop’s temperature was cool and that my battery power would not die out so quickly. After trying TLP, laptop-mode, and powertop, failure was in the horizon. TLP actually INCREASES my temperature, laptop-mode does nothing, and powertop sometimes just crashes Arch Linux. At this point, I’ve given up. I’ve decided to just have my power cord handy at all times. Without any power management tool, Eliza runs at approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes on light internet use and 2 hours on media use, video watching, and music listening. The running temperature is 38 degrees Celsius.

There are a few things I have not yet completely done with my partition that I’d like to work on when I have time:

  • Get my University’s WiFi to work on it.
  • Install all those applications that I need (IDEs, multimedia editing software)
  • Finally transition from Windows to Linux by transferring necessary files onto my Shared partition
  • Customise Eliza to my liking (like ACTUALLY INSTALLING A FREAKIN’ POWER MANAGEMENT TOOL)
  • Have fun with Eliza

I’ll keep you updated regarding all those activities. In the meantime, I’m in the process of organizing my files so that the transition from Windows to Linux won’t be too bad. Also, I’ve been reading up on things to know regarding commands and shortcuts so that I can be a bit more equipped the next time I tackle this giant.

One thought on “Meet Eliza, my Arch Linux Boot!

$ cat your_comment

